Week 11: Conversation w/ Student – Joseph Adwadallah

image (47)

This week at the galleries, I met Joseph Awadllah. After my conversation with Joseph I learned a lot about him and found him to be a very likeable person. We also had many common interests and related on many things in terms of music, art, and life in general.

Joseph, like me, is a first year student at Long Beach and is currently Undeclared. Among his interests, he enjoys going to Palestine with his parents to see holy places, although he considers himself Atheist. He told me that although he is Atheist, he has not told his parents given their strong faith. I found this to be interesting because I’m also in a similar situation. Although I was brought up Catholic, I consider myself to be Agnostic and often refrain from letting my parents, particularly my mother, know this fact so I don’t offend them.

Joseph also enjoys listening to music. Given that he is a delivery driver for Papa John’s Pizza, he spends a lot of time in the car, which is where he listens to a majority of his music. Joseph told me that he primarily listens to rock from the 1960s and 1970s. I can relate to this because I also enjoy listening to a lot of bands from the 60s and 70s like the Velvet Underground, the Beatles, Pink Floyd, and Led Zeppelin, among many others.

Afterwards we talked about our current education and what our plans were for the future. Joseph is unsure, like many other college students, of what he wants to do in the future, let alone what major he wants to pick. I myself face this dilemma quite regularly. We also discussed how ultimately there’s a conflict between what we would like to do and what our parents or other exterior forces tell us we should do. Despite this conflict, we both were sure that we would both figure out lives as it goes on.
Talking with Joseph was a very pleasurable experience and it felt refreshing to discuss my interests and life issues with someone who held similar thoughts as me.

Leave a Reply

